Honey Beaulieu by Jacquie Rogers

Welcome, Jacquie Rogers!  Sit down and grab a cup of joe as we catch up with Jacquie on what’s new…

Welcome, readers!  Can you believe I’ve been writing for twenty years?  Hard to believe, I know, but it has been that long since I dreamed a book and decided to write it.  Naturally, the Romance genre beckoned because I love, love, love Happily Ever Afters and I hate cliffhangers.


Each book in my Hearts of Owyhee series can be read as a standalone.  Yes, they’re connected—some more so than others—but if you haven’t read the first three, you’ll still enjoy Much Ado About Mavericks.  That’s the way I wanted it, and for twenty years, that’s what I’ve been writing, whether novels, novellas, or short stories.  I loved every minute of it.

What’s lovin’ without a little laughter? Ranchers, gunmen, miners… yep, they do their best to tame the women of Owyhee County. Or is it the other way around? At any rate, they all find true love in those they least expect. Throw in a few cats, goats, and dogs, and a fun time is had by all. And yes, Owyhee County really exists.

The Hearts of Owyhee series takes place in the mid-1880s and is set in southwest Idaho. It’s arid, and mostly high mountain desert.

Owyhee, pronounced Oh-WYE-hee, is the original anglicized spelling of Hawaii. Why is a county in the southwestern corner of Idaho named after islands in the Pacific? Because three fur trappers were lost there around 1819, so the area (including southeast Oregon) was named after them.

Gold and silver was discovered in the early 1860s, and the boom began. Because of the remoteness of the area, miners had to make do with supplies that could be hauled in, but that didn’t dampen their spirits any. Take a wild ride with the Hearts of Owyhee series. The characters and situations are fiction, but the area is very real–and where the Old West still lives today.


Hearts of Owyhee series

Much Ado About Madams – http://amzn.com/B00RUJXEPM
Much Ado About Marshals – http://amzn.com/B00RW84YRS
Much Ado About Miners – http://amzn.com/B00RWUFB3C
Much Ado About Mavericks – http://amzn.com/B00S05Q6ZK
Much Ado About Mustangs – http://amzn.com/B00YLPUX8O

Connected to Hearts of Owyhee:

Mercy: Bride of Idaho – http://amzn.com/B017GOU3WC
Mail-Order Tangle (with Caroline Clemmons) – http://amzn.com/B00MZ6ZRXC


Three years ago, I decided (actually, Troy Smith, who was president of Western Fictioneers at the time, decided for me) to try my hand at writing a traditional western novella (out of print now, but will be reissued this year).  And you know, readers liked it!  That was a pleasant surprise.

All this led up to digging out an idea I had way back in 1998 that was completely unmarketable.  The first book in that series was released this morning.  What an exciting, scary, happy day!  I’m stepping out of bounds with my new release, Honey Beaulieu – Man Hunter.

I’ve been telling people it’s a genre blend.  Actually, that’s not quite accurate.  This series is its own genre.  Pure and simple.  If I had to describe it, I’d say a mashup of Gunsmoke, Sex in the City, and Casper the Friendly Ghost.

Does this mean I’m not writing romance anymore?  Certainly not!  First of all, there is a romance element in Hot Work in Fry Pan Gulch.  Besides, after I finish the second Honey Beaulieu book, Sidetracked in Silver City (which has some Hearts of Owyhee characters in it), I’ll be working on a mail-order bride book for Prairie Rose Publications.  After that, I’ll write the third Honey book, and then the sixth Hearts of Owyhee novel.  Do you think I should write Bram McKinnon’s story?  Or maybe Micah’s story… haven’t decided yet.

There’s just something about a good romance that warms the heart.  And then again, sometimes you want a kick-butt heroine who doesn’t take guff from anyone.  That’s Honey Beaulieu.  So there you go—a book for your every mood!


Jacquie is a former software designer, campaign manager, deli clerk, and cow milker, but always a bookworm. Reading is her passion–westerns, fantasies, historicals of any era, and all with a dash of romance. If an author can make her laugh, she’ll buy every book he/she ever wrote.

While Jacquie is a country girl by birth, she currently live in suburbia with her very patient husband (important point: they are the staff of one cat) Jacquie doesn’t think you can ever take the country out of a girl’s heart. That’s probably why her stories often take place in Idaho where she grew up. (Hearts of Owyhee series and some of her short stories, too.)

Pickle Barrel Gazette newsletter

Facebook – Jacquie Rogers’ Pickle Barrel Bar and Books

Website (JacquieRogers.com)

Join Jacquie on the Pioneer Hearts Books Store in Amazon and as always, don’t forget to leave a review for other readers!

6 thoughts on “Honey Beaulieu by Jacquie Rogers

    1. I know about the TBR and no time. I have some books that I’m just dying to read but… well, I need to get the next book finished before I can dive into some serious reading. One of my problems is that I love to read the whole book in one sitting–much better that way because you’re totally immersed in the story world. But that simply isn’t possible right now. Even so, I’m reading a few chapters here and there.

      Like

  1. Y’all have got to quit teasing me with Miz Honey! I won’t be able to get to her for another couple of weeks (Western Fictioneers judging), and I’m just about to bust with anticipation. Life simply ain’t fair.

    Congrats on the release, Trail Boss!

    Like

Leave a Reply

