Justice Comes to Salina

~ by Penny Estelle

Victoria Stone is the new school teacher in Salina, Kansas. The people of Salina do all they can to make Victoria feel welcome and her students are finding their way into her heart. Then there’s the town’s sheriff who is getting under her skin and turning every emotion she has inside out.

But in her bag, Victoria isn’t toting books and school supplies. There is a score to settle in Salina, Kansas, and nothing or nobody is going to deter her from putting things right.


Excerpt ~

Jasper spit out a wad of tobacco. “You’re the new teacher?” he asked, wiping the juice off his chin with the back of his hand.

She wrinkled her nose in distaste. “Yes, I was contracted for this school year, Mr…”

“You ain’t no bigger than a minute. The boys at the school are gonna eat you alive!”

“I assure you I am perfectly capable…”

He cut her off. “You traveling alone?”

Her green eyes turned a darker shade. She picked up her bags and started walking toward the town. “Mr., whatever your name is, could you kindly tell me where I might find Mr. James Timmons?”

“Name’s Jasper Coogan, missy, and there ain’t no need getting your dander up.”

She stopped, turned, dropped her bags and put her hands on her hips. “Stone, Mr. Coogan. My name is Victoria Stone. I am here to teach the children of Salina.” Her words were chipped and she advanced on him with every word. “I was to meet a Mr. Timmons. I am hot and tired, Mr. Coogan. If you would be so kind, please take me to him or to the place I will be residing. I am assuming you are familiar with where that would be!”

“Well, course I am, Miss Vicky.” Totally ignoring her agitation, the big man picked up her bags and walked to a buckboard.

Closing her eyes for a few seconds, she got a hold of her temper and followed.

http://amzn.to/1reMw4g


 

My Review ~

This book by Penny Estelle is one that I remember from a year ago. I thought I had reviewed it but I’m not seeing my review here so I’m going to write another one.

Victoria has been hired as the schoolteacher for the town of Salina. She is not like any schoolteacher that I have ever met though!  She is a strong female heroine who has a score to settle and revenge is her first priority. After meeting the people of Salina, she begins to question her priorities and with the help of friends and the Sheriff, begins to find her place in the world.

Sheriff Timmons is my favorite type of hero – a lawman! He is there to help Victoria and keep her safe. He also finds her sweet, sassy and incredibly attractive. He would do anything to protect Vicky from any harm.

There were spelling errors in the book but didn’t detract from the story for me. I enjoyed the tale and the strength of Victoria as well as the twists and turns the book had.


Penny Estelle is a best-selling writer for all ages, from the early reader to adults. Her books range from pictures books for the little ones, to fantasy and time-travel adventures for ages 9 to 13. She also, under P. A. Estelle, writes adult stories including a family drama and contemporary, paranormal and historical westerns romances.

Penny was a school secretary for 21 years. She and her husband moved to their retirement home in Kingman, AZ, on very rural 54 acres, living on solar and wind only.

Penny and her books can be found in the following links:

Pioneer Hearts Bookstore
www.pennystales.com

www.pennyestelle.blogspot.com
https://twitter.com/Pennystales

One thought on “Justice Comes to Salina

Leave a Reply

