Merry Farmer’s Trail of Passion

~ Talking with Merry Farmer

People frequently ask me, “What’s your favorite book that you’ve written?” The answer is always the same: “The one I’m working on now.” No, really! I’m not joking about that. There’s something about the book you’re working on now that’s magical. I feel that way about Trail of Passion at the moment. A lot of what makes me love it is how much fun I’ve been having with the characters and how they’re revealing themselves to me. So when Cissie asked me these questions, I knew just how to answer….

1) Where did the idea for Trail of Passion come from?

Okay, I’ll confess. I like nerdy guys. They’re just fantastic, as far as I’m concerned. A lot of romance heroes are the tough, strong, alpha male type (that I secretly don’t like very much). So I wanted to see how a smart, thoughtful, slightly shy guy would do out on the Oregon Trail. And that’s how Gideon Faraday was born. But I also wanted to put him together with an unlikely heroine, a girl who was bright and bubbly and outgoing. Sort of an “opposites attract” kind of thing. At the same time, the hallmark of my writing is characters with deep emotions and pain in their pasts that they are working to overcome. With all of those elements in place, the story practically wrote itself.

2) How many books do you anticipate?

I think there will be 9 books in the Hot on the Trail series. The next on, Trail of Aces, is Olivia and Charlie’s story. I’m about to start writing it. The last one, Trail of Chances, will be Josephine and Pete’s story. I’m hoping to have that out by the end of the year. After that, in the new year, I’ll be starting a whole new historical western series that takes place in Haskell, Wyoming, in which the main characters will be the children of the characters from the Hot on the Trail series! I’ve got a few surprises coming with that series too. *wiggles eyebrows*

3) Tell me about Lucy’s book, Trail of Passion.

Lucy has been living with her mother in Cincinnati for the past few years, but she jumps at the chance to go home to her father’s ranch in Wyoming. She loves adventure, loves flouting the rules of society to be herself and challenge the way things are supposed to be, so she decides to travel along the Oregon Trail instead of just taking the train. She doesn’t care about her reputation (but mostly because she’s afraid she’ll be invisible if she behaves all the time). Meanwhile, Gideon is heading west to escape something he’s done that he sees as beyond forgiveness. He’s eaten up with guilt. So when he meets Lucy, who is so free and excitable and in love with life, he quickly loses his heart. But he doesn’t think he’s good enough for her. Of course, Lucy disagrees.

4) What other series are you working on now?

The fans of my historical westerns might not know that I also write Victorian romance and contemporary romance. This past summer, I wrote a serial, The Brynthwaite Boys, set in 1895 in the Lake District of England. The individual issues are available right now, but in just a couple of weeks I’ll be releasing the episodes as box sets.

I’ll also be releasing the third book in my contemporary romance series, Catch a Falling Star, at the end of October. Catch a Falling Star is part of a series called Second Chances. That name comes from the television show that’s at the heart of all of the books. I love this series, because in each book, at least one of the main characters, hero or heroine, is a movie star or director or someone deeply involved in the entertainment industry. The books take place near the coast in Maine, where the show is filmed. They’re super steamy and fun! The first two books, Summer with a Star and One Night with a Star, are available now.


Merry Farmer lives in suburban Philadelphia with her two cats, Butterfly and Torpedo. She has been writing since she was ten years old and realized one day that she didn’t have to wait for the teacher to assign a creative writing project to write something. It was the best day of her life. She then went on to earn not one but two degrees in History so that she would always having something to write about. Today she walks along the cutting edge of Indie Publishing, writing Historical Romance and Women’s Sci-Fi. She is also passionate about blogging, knitting, and cricket and is working towards becoming an internationally certified cricket scorer.

Sign up for Merry’s newsletter to receive exclusive content and upcoming release dates here: http://eepurl.com/RQ-KX

You can email her at merryfarmer20@yahoo.com or follow her on Twitter @merryfarmer20.

Merry also has a blog, http://merryfarmer.net, and a Facebook page, www.facebook.com/merryfarmerauthor, and loves visitors.

 

3 thoughts on “Merry Farmer’s Trail of Passion

  1. Reblogged this on Merry Farmer and commented:
    Did you know that there’s an entire, beautiful blog and book store for the Pioneer Hearts reader’s group? It’s pretty awesome! I was asked to talk a bit about my latest release and future projects for today, so pop on over and read all about Trail of Passion and some other fun stuff I have coming up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

